2012 Alumni Awards

Honoring extraordinary service

Presentation of the awards at Reunion 2011

Over the years, the Colgate University Alumni Council has established annual awards to recognize and reward exemplary service to the college.

Wm. Brian Little '64 Award For Distinguished Service To Colgate
First established in 1937, this is the highest honor bestowed by the Alumni Council. It recognizes Colgate alumni/ae who have rendered distinguished service to the college and have previously received the Maroon Citation. Mere prominence is not the criterion; rather, the award recognizes those who have worked, over a number of years, with marked intelligence and success to promote the highest interests of the college. The 2012 recipients are:

  • Scott A. Meiklejohn ’77
  • Jeffrey B. Fager ’77

Maroon Citation
The citation was established in 1955 in grateful recognition of significant and invaluable personal contributions to Colgate University. A record of service, rather than a single act or achievement, is the criterion for selection. Although primarily an honor to be bestowed on Colgate alumni/ae (up to 13 annually), the Maroon Citation may also be awarded to up to three (3) non-alumni employees of the University or members of the Society of Families whose service to the institution meets the requirements. The 2012 recipients are:

  • Edward T. Dunn ’42
  • Thomas G. Armstrong ’52
  • Edgar A. Lampert ’62
  • A. Paul Bradley, Jr. ’67
  • Alden T. Doolittle ’67
  • Edward A. Ryan ’67
  • Thomas H. Tucker ’67
  • Linda J. Havlin ’72
  • C. Thomas Kunz ’72
  • Peter K. Anglum ’77
  • Ramon A. Garcia, Jr. ’77
  • Lynn Plant ’77
  • Johanna M. Hunter ’82
  • Kathryn Brawn - Head women’s soccer coach; instructor in physical education
  • Claudia Caraher - Assistant to the president
  • Robert Pils - Associate director of facilities and manager of environmental services

Ann Yao '80 Memorial Young Alumni Award
This award was established in 1992 to honor and recognize up to three (3) alumni who have demonstrated remarkable and meritorious service to Colgate since graduation and who exemplify the qualities possessed by the late Ann Yao '80. These qualities include volunteer work at the District Alumni Club level and/or in Alumni Admissions work and/or in class fund-raising efforts. This award is not based on service while an undergraduate. Eligible candidates are members of the fifth Reunion Class. The 2012 recipient is:

  • William E. Hapworth, Jr. ’07

Colgate Alumni Corporation Humanitarian Award
Established in 2003, the purpose of this award is to honor Colgate alumni/ae who have devoted themselves to improving the lives of individuals and communities. This award also recognizes Jane Lagoudis Pinchin, distinguished member of the faculty, Dean and Provost,and Interim President of Colgate 2001-2002, who in both her personal life and professional career has worked with intelligence, warmth, and energy for the benefit of communities. The Colgate Alumni Corporation Humanitarian Award honors someone who is unusually committed to helping others and who, by choice of career or other significant commitment of time and energy, exemplifies all that Colgate seeks to inspire in its students by way of devotion to community. The 2012 recipient is:

  • Susan Z. Retik-Ger ’90 - Co-Founder of Beyond the 11th

Colgate Alumni Corporation Distinguished Teaching Award

Established in 1981 and first awarded in 1983, this award recognizes, on behalf of all Colgate alumni, outstanding teachers at the university. The award is given to up to two (2) tenured members of the Colgate University faculty who exemplify the qualities possessed by the late Professor David Stern (Political Science). The 2012 recipients are:

  • Randall L. Fuller - Professor of biology and environmental studies
  • S. Jill Harsin - Professor of history